Academic Advising

ACE Advising Services

provides formal and informal advising services to traditional and transfer students enrolled in Howard University’s College of Arts and Sciences. We also support all undergraduate schools and colleges at Howard University by co-developing common and unique advising experiences that meet the needs of undergraduate students. ACE focuses on helping students understand degree requirements, follow academic policies and procedures, and develop and execute an appropriate plan for fulfilling degree requirements. We re-enforce student self-efficacy, informed and proactive decision making, and academic behaviors that result in timely degree completion.

This process includes understanding degree requirements and university academic and academic support policies and procedures.  Effective academic advising promotes student self-efficacy, informed and proactive decision-making, and academically focused behaviors that result in timely degree completion.

Please view the list of advising contacts below.

 

Academic Advisor Lists

Cathy Hughes School of Communication

Cathy Hughes School of Communication

Ms. Mikeisha Best: A-F

Email: Mikeisha.best@howard.edu

 

Mr. Ryan Hill: G-N

Email: Ryan.hill@howard.edu

 

Aviva Porter: O-Z 

Email: Aviva.porter@howard.edu

LOCATION: 300 Bryant St NW

Chadwick A. Boseman College of Fine Arts

Department of Art

Iesha Washburn

iesha.washburn@howard.edu

 

Department of Music

Genesis Neely

genesis.neely@howard.edu

Department of Theatre Arts

Crystal Donaldson

crystal.donaldson@howard.edu

 

College of Arts & Sciences (COAS)

Aerospace / Air Force ROTC / Military Science-Air Force

Lt. Col Redahlia Person

EMAIL: redahlia.person@howard.edu

 

African Studies

Freshmen and Sophomores

Office of Undergraduate Studies

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

All African Studies Undergraduates

Dr. Anita Plummer

EMAIL: anita.plummer@howard.edu

LOCATION: Annex III, 4th & College St, NW 

Afro - American Studies

Freshmen and Sophomores

Office of Undergraduate Studies

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. BaNikongo Nikongo

EMAIL: nnikongo@howard.edu

 

Dr. Mario Beatty

EMAIL: mario.beatty@howard.edu

 

Dr. Michael Ralph

EMAIL: michael.ralph@howard.edu

LOCATIONS: Founders Library; 3rd Floor, 500 Howard Place, NW

Army ROTC / Military Science-Army

Mrs. Sharon Finney
EMAIL: sharon.finney@howard.edu

Location:

Frederick Douglas Hall

Biology

Freshmen (Only)

Morgan Miller (OUS)

EMAIL: morgan.miller3@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

 

Sophomores (Only)

Hope Borders (OUS)

EMAIL: hope.borders@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Marissa Thornton

EMAIL: marissa.thornton1@howard.edu

LOCATION: Ernest E. Just Hall

 

Transfer Students

Dr. Elizabeth Stewart

EMAIL: elizabeth.stewart@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie Building

 

Honors Students

Dr. Courtney Robinson

EMAIL: courtney.robinson@howard.edu

LOCATION: Ernest E. Just Hall

 

General Registration and/or Advising Concerns 

Shaolei Teng

EMAIL: shaolei.teng@howard.edu

LOCATION: Ernest E. Just Hall

 

 

Chemistry

Freshmen

Hope Borders (OUS)

EMAIL: hope.borders@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

 

Dr. Charles Hosten 

EMAIL: chosten@howard.edu

 

Dr. Dharmara Raghavan

EMAIL: draghavan@howard.edu

 

Sophomores

Dr. Jason Matthews

EMAIL: jsmatthews@howard.edu

 

Dr. Dinari Harris

EMAIL: dinari.harris@howard.edu

 

Juniors

Dr. Steven Cummings

EMAIL: steven.cummings@howard.edu

 

Dr. Raymond Butcher

EMAIL: rbutcher@howard.edu

 

Seniors

Dr. Shawn M Abernathy

EMAIL: sabernathy@howard.edu

 

Dr. Sung Joon Kim

EMAIL: sung.kim@howard.edu

---

LOCATIONS: The Chemistry Building, Room 120

Criminology

Freshmen and Sophomores

Siddiq Iddrisu (OUS)

EMAIL: siddiq.iddrisu@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Bahiyyah Muhammad

EMAIL: bahiyyah.muhammad@howard.edu

LOCATION: Department of Sociology and Anthropology, 2441 6th St., NW

 

Dr. Jay Stewart

EMAIL: j_stewart@howard.edu

LOCATION: Douglass Memorial Hall, 2419 6th Street NW, 2nd Floor, Suite 202

Economics

Freshmen and Sophomores

Office of Undergraduate Studies

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

Department Advisors

Dr. Deniz Baglan

EMAIL: deniz.baglan@howard.edu

 

Dr. Gaminie Meepagala

EMAIL: gmeepagala@howard.edu

 

Dr. Omari Swinton

EMAIL: oswinton@howard.edu

 

LOCATIONS: Academic Support Building B, 3rd Floor, 2400 Sixth Street, N.W.

English

Freshmen and Sophomores

Office of Undergraduate Studies

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

Juniors & Seniors

Dr. Alla Tovares

EMAIL: atovares@howard.edu

LOCATION: 2441 Sixth Street, NW, Locke Hall, Room 248

French

Freshmen and Sophomores

Office of Undergraduate Studies

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

Health Education

Freshmen and Sophomores

Anthony Bierria Anderson (OUS)

EMAIL: anthony.bierria-ande@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies

Freshmen and Sophomores

Anthony Bierria Anderson (OUS)

EMAIL: anthony.bierria-ande@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

 

HLED

Dr. Deneen Long-White

EMAIL: dnlong@howard.edu

 

HUPF

Dr. Seanta Cleveland

EMAIL: seanta.cleveland@howard.edu

 

LEST

Dr. Aaron Livingston

EMAIL: aaron.livingston@howard.edu

---

LOCATION: Burr Gymnasium, Room 1011 - 600 Girard Street, NW
 

History

Freshmen and Sophomores

Office of Undergraduate Studies

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

Interdisciplinary Studies

Freshmen and Sophomores

Anthony Bierria Anderson (OUS)

EMAIL: anthony.bierria-ande@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Assya Pascalev, Director (Bioethics)

PHONE: (202) 865-0098,

EMAILS: apascalev@howard.edu

                assya.pascalev@bio-ethics.net

 


Dr. Emily Blank, Director (Community Development)

PHONE: 202-806-4897

EMAIL: eblank@howard.edu

 


Dr. Clarence Lusane, Director (International Affairs)

PHONE: 202-806-5833 or 9383

EMIAL: Clarence.lusane@howard.edu

 


Dr. Caroline Stark, Director (Ancient and Modern)

PHONE; 202-806-5220

EMAIL: cglstark@gmail.com 

- or - Dr. Alexander Tulin 

PHONE: (202) 806-6725

EMAIL: alexandertulin@gmail.com.


Dr. Janelle M. Burke, Director (Environmental Sciences)

PHONE: 202-806-7289

EMAIL: janelle.burke@howard.edu

 

LOCATIONS: Please email your respective advisor.

Mathematics

Freshmen and Sophomores

Office of Undergraduate Studies

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

 

 

Major Concentration Advisors

Pure Math

Dr. Xingting Wang
EMAIL: 
xingting.wang@howard.edu

 

Applied Math

Dr. Yeona Kang
EMAIL: yeona.kang@howard.edu

 

Actuarial Sciences

Dr. Daniel Williams
EMAIL: 
dawilliams@howard.edu

 

Math Education

Dr. Dennis Davenport
EMAIL: 
dennis.davenport@howard.edu

 

Pre-Medical Studies:

Dr. Jill McGowan
EMAIL: 
jmcgowan@howard.edu

 

Data Science: (Upcoming)

Dr. Moussa Doumbia

EMAIL: mdoumbia@howard.edu

 

COURSE COORDINATION

College Algebra I (005/006):

Dr. Lifoma Salaam
EMAIL: 
lifoma.salaam@howard.edu

 

College Algebra II:

Mr. Prem-Raj Ruffin
EMAIL: 
premraj.ruffin@howard.edu

 

Pre-Calculus

Dr. Khalid Boushaba
EMAIL: 
khalid.boushaba@howard.edu

 

Calculus I

Dr. Sankar Sitaraman
EMAIL: 
ssitaramab@howard.edu

 

Calculus II

Dr. Alexander Burstein
EMAIL: 
aburstein@howard.edu

 

Calculus III

Dr. Timothy Myers
EMAIL: 
timeyers@howard.edu

 

Differential Equations


Dr. David James

EMAIL: djames@howard.edu

 

Math Tutoring and Math Studio Coordination 

Dr. Lifoma Salaam
EMAIL: 
lifoma.salaam@howard.edu

Dr. Izolda Fotiyeva
EMAIL: 
izolda.fotiyeva@howard.edu

Philosophy

Freshmen and Sophomores

Siddiq Iddrisu (OUS)

EMAIL: siddiq.iddrisu@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

 

Department Advisor

Dr. Brandon Hogan
EMAIL: brandon.hogan@howard.edu

LOCATION: Locke Hall Room 226, 2441 6th Street NW
 

Physics and Astronomy

Freshmen and Sophomores

Morgan Miller (OUS)

EMAIL: morgan.miller3@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

Department Advisor 

Dr. Prabhakar Misra
EMAIL: pmisra@howard.edu

 

Political Science

Freshmen and Sophomores

William Heberlein (OUS)

EMAIL: william.heberlein@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

 

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Leanne Burck

EMAIL: leanne.burck@howard.edu

LOCATION: Douglass Memorial Hall, 2419 6th Street NW, 2nd Floor, Suite 321

Psychology

Freshmen and Sophomores

Rita Omekam (OUS)

EMAIL: rita.omekam@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

---

Faculty Advisors

Freshmen

Dr. Debra Roberts

EMAIL: ddroberts@howard.edu

 

Dr. Jules Harrell

EMAIL: jharrell@howard.edu

 

Dr. Oritsegbubenmi Ayu

EMAIL: oayu@howard.edu


Sophomores

Dr. Denee Mwendwa

EMAIL: dmwendwa@howard.edu

 

Dr. Monique Major

EMAIL: m_major@howard.

 

Juniors


Dr. Jamie Barden

EMAIL:barden@howard.edu

Dr. Woojae Kim: woojae.kim@howard.edu

 

Dr. Woojae Kim

EMAIL: woojae.kim@howard.edu 

 

Dr. Patrick Plummer

EMAIL: patrick.plummer@howard.edu

 

Seniors

Dr. Linda Berg-Cross:

EMAIL: Iberg-cross@howard.edu

 

Dr. Alphonso Campbell Jr.

EMAIL: acampbell@howard.edu

 

General Advising

Ms. Terry Morris

EMAIL: terry.morris@howard.edu

 

LOCATION FOR ALL ADVISORS: The Mark at 641 S Street, NW, Washington DC, 20001

Sociology

Freshmen and Sophomores

Siddiq Iddrisu (OUS)

EMAIL: siddiq.iddrisu@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

 

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Jay Stewart

EMAIL: j_stewart@howard.edu

LOCATION: Douglass Memorial Hall, Building 23, 2419 6th Street NW | 2nd Floor Suite 202

Transfer Students

Elizabeth Stewart

EMAIL: elizabeth.stewart@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

World Languages

Spanish

Office of Undergraduate Studies

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

Undecided / Exploratory

William Heberlein (OUS)

EMAIL: william.heberlein@howard.edu

LOCATION: Carnegie, 2395 6th St. NW

College of Engineering & Architecture

Architecture

Transfers, 4th & 5th Year

Dr. Hazel Edwards
EMAIL: hazel.edwards@howard.edu

 

5th Year / Masters

Prof. Edward Dunson

EMAIL: edunson@howard.edu

 
Freshmen, Sophomores and Juniors

Dr. Bradford Grant
EMAIL: 
bcgrant@howard.edu

 

Architecture and Design Studies

1st and 2nd Year / Freshmen and Sophomores

Dr. Ivory Berry

EMAIL: ivory.berry@howard.edu

 

3rd and 4th Year / Juniors and Seniors

Prof. Brad Grant

EMAIL: bcgrant@howard.edu

Chemical Engineering

Freshmen and Sophomores

Brandon Ash
EMAIL: 
brandon.ash@howard.edu

Juniors 

Dr. Stephen Arhin
EMAIL: 
saarhin@howard.edu


Seniors

Dr. Lorraine Fleming
EMAIL: 
lfleming@howard.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Freshmen and Sophomores


Brandon Ash
EMAIL: 
brandon.ash@howard.edu

 

Juniors

Dr. Hessam Yazdani
EMAIL: 
Hessam.yazdani@howard.edu


Seniors

Dr. Robert Efimba
EMAIL: 
refimba@howard.edu

Computer Engineering

Freshmen and Sophomores

Brandon Ash
EMAIL: 
brandon.ash@howard.edu

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Hassan Salmani
EMAIL: 
hassan.salmani@howard.edu

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

All Google Tech Exchange Students

Dr. Legand Burge
EMAIL: lburge@howard.edu

Computer Science

Freshmen and Sophomores

Dr. LaDan Johnson
EMAIL: ladan.johnson1@howard.edu

Juniors and Seniors

(Assigned based on the first letter of the student's last name):

Last Names: A & B

Dr. Jiang Li
EMAIL: 
jli@howard.edu


Last Names: C, D, E, F

Dr. Jeremy Blackstone
jeremy.m.blackstone5@howard.edu


Last Names: G, H, I, J

Dr. Noah Hazzazi
EMAIL:
noah.hazzazi@howard.edu


Last Names: K, L, M, N

Dr. Chunmei Liu
EMAIL: 
chuliu@howad.edu

Last Names: O, P, Q

Dr. Gloria Washington
EMAIL: 
gloria.washington@howad.edu


Last Names: R - Z

Dr. Harry Keeling
EMAIL: 
hkeeling@howard.edu

Electrical Engineering

Freshmen and Sophomores

Brandon Ash
EMAIL: 
brandon.ash@howard.edu

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Charles Kim
EMAIL:
ckim@howard.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Freshmen and Sophomores

Brandon Ash
EMAIL: 
brandon.ash@howard.edu

Juniors 

Dr. Naren Vira
EMAIL: nvira@howard.edu

Seniors

Dr. Nadir Yilmaz
EMAIL: 
Nadir.yilmaz@howard.edu

Additional Assistance for Engineering & Architecture Students

If you are unable to reach your faculty advisor during the summer months, please contact Dr. Ivory Berry, Assistant Dean, at ivory.berry@howard.edu.

College of Nursing and Allied Health Services

College of Nursing & Allied Health Services

Allied Health Sciences

Bradley Green (Allied Health Sciences)
EMAIL: bradley.green@howard.edu

Nursing

Ameenah Rashid 
EMAIL: ameenah.rashid@howard.edu

School of Business

School of Business

Vashon Broadnax
EMAIL:
Vashon.broadnax@howard.edu

Karen Hampton
EMAIL:
khampton@howard.edu

Troy Prince
EMAIL:
troy.prince@howard.edu

 

LOCATION: 2600 6th St NW

School of Education

School of Education

Brandy Jackson
EMAIL: 
brandy.jackson@howard.edu

LOCATION: 2441 4th Street, NW