Academic Advising

ACE Advising Services

provides formal and informal advising services to traditional and transfer students enrolled in Howard University’s College of Arts and Sciences. We also support all undergraduate schools and colleges at Howard University by co-developing common and unique advising experiences that meet the needs of undergraduate students. ACE focuses on helping students understand degree requirements, follow academic policies and procedures, and develop and execute an appropriate plan for fulfilling degree requirements. We re-enforce student self-efficacy, informed and proactive decision making, and academic behaviors that result in timely degree completion.

This process includes understanding degree requirements and university academic and academic support policies and procedures.  Effective academic advising promotes student self-efficacy, informed and proactive decision-making, and academically focused behaviors that result in timely degree completion.

Please view the list of advising contacts below.

Academic Advisor Lists - COAS

Aerospace

Lt. Col Redahlia Person

EMAIL: redahlia.person@howard.edu

LOCATION: Alain Locke Hall, Suite 101
 

African Studies

Freshmen and Sophomores

Crystal Donaldson (OUS) 

cdonaldson@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Anita Plummer

anita.plummer@howard.edu

LOCATION: Annex III, 4th & College St, NW 

Afro - American Studies

Freshmen and Sophomores

Crystal Donaldson (OUS) 

cdonaldson@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. BaNikongo Nikongo

nnikongo@howard.edu

 

Dr. Mario Beatty

mario.beatty@howard.edu

 

Dr. Michael Ralph

michael.ralph@howard.edu

LOCATIONS: Founders Library; 3rd Floor, 500 Howard Place, NW

Biology

Freshmen (Only)

Genesis Neely (OUS)

genesis.neely@howard.edu

 

Sophomores (Only)

Lincoln Brown, Jr. (OUS)

Email: lg_brown@howard.edu

 

LOCATIONS: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

 

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Rachelle Allen-McFarlane

EMAIL: rachelle.allen@howard.edu 

Dr. Janelle Burke

EMAIL: janelle.burke@howard.edu



Dr. Atanu Duttaroy

EMAIL: aduttaroy@howard.edu



Dr. Broderick Eribo

EMAIL: beribo@howard.edu



Dr. Stacy Farina

EMAIL: stacy.farina@howard.edu



Dr. Clarence Lee

EMAIL: cmlee@howard.edu



Dr. Michael Lipscomb

EMAIL: michael.lipscomb@howard.edu

 

Dr. Courtney Robinson

EMAIL: courtney.robinson@howard.edu


Dr. Shaolei Teng

EMAIL: shaolei.teng@howard.edu


Dr. Michael Thomas

EMAIL: michael.thomas@howard.edu

---

LOCATIONS: EE Just Hall - Biology Building, 415 College St. NW

Chemistry

All Undergraduate Classifications

Dr. Charles Hosten (OUS)

EMAIL: chosten@howard.edu



Dr. Shawn M Abernathy

EMAIL: sabernathy@howard.edu


Dr. Jason Matthews

EMAIL: jsmatthews@howard.edu



Dr. Dharmara Raghavan 

EMAIL: draghavan@Howard.edu

---

LOCATIONS: 525 College Street, NW Room 120

Criminology

Freshmen and Sophomores

Christopher Willis (OUS)

EMAIL: christopher.willis@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Ernest Quimby

EMAIL: equimby@howard.edu

LOCATION: Douglass Memorial Hall, 2419 6th Street NW, 2nd Floor Suite 202

Economics

Freshmen and Sophomores

Crystal Donaldson (OUS) 

EMAIL: cdonaldson@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Deniz Baglan

EMAIL: deniz.baglan@howard.edu


Dr. Emily Blank

EMAIL: eblank@howard.edu


Dr. Gerald Daniels

EMAIL: gerald.daniels@howard.edu


Dr. Gaminie Meepagala

EMAIL: gmeepagala@howard.edu


Dr. Omari Swinton

EMAIL: oswinton@howard.edu

 

LOCATIONS: Academic Support Building B, 3rd Floor, 2400 Sixth Street, N.W.

English

Freshmen and Sophomores

Crystal Donaldson (OUS) 

EMAIL: cdonaldson@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Juniors & Seniors

Dr. Alla Tovares

EMAIL: atovares@howard.edu

LOCATION: 2441 Sixth Street, NW, Locke Hall, Room 248

French

Freshmen and Sophomores

Crystal Donaldson (OUS)

EMAIL: cdonaldson@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

Health Education

Freshmen and Sophomores

Usher Moses (OUS)

EMAIL: usher.moses@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies

Christopher Willis (OUS)

EMAIL: christopher.willis@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

History

Freshmen and Sophomores

Crystal Donaldson (OUS)

EMAIL:cdonaldson@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

Interdisciplinary Studies

Freshmen and Sophomores

Usher Moses (OUS)

EMAIL: usher.moses@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Assya Pascalev, Director (Bioethics)

PHONE: (202) 865-0098,

EMAILS: apascalev@howard.edu

                assya.pascalev@bio-ethics.net

 


Dr. Emily Blank, Director (Community Development)

PHONE: 202-806-4897

EMAIL: eblank@howard.edu

 


Dr. Clarence Lusane, Director (International Affairs)

PHONE: 202-806-5833 or 9383

EMIAL: Clarence.lusane@howard.edu

 


Dr. Caroline Stark, Director (Ancient and Modern)

PHONE; 202-806-5220

EMAIL: cglstark@gmail.com 

- or - Dr. Alexander Tulin 

PHONE: (202) 806-6725

EMAIL: alexandertulin@gmail.com.


Dr. Janelle M. Burke, Director (Environmental Sciences)

PHONE: 202-806-7289

EMAIL: janelle.burke@howard.edu

 

LOCATIONS: Please email your respective advisor.

Mathematics

Major Concentration Advisors

Pure Math

Dr. Xingting Wang
EMAIL: 
xingting.wang@howard.edu

 

Applied Math

Dr. Yeona Kang
EMAIL: yeona.kang@howard.edu

 

Actuarial Sciences

Dr. Daniel Williams
EMAIL: 
dawilliams@howard.edu

 

Math Education

Dr. Dennis Davenport
EMAIL: 
dennis.davenport@howard.edu

 

Pre-Medical Studies:

Dr. Jill McGowan
EMAIL: 
jmcgowan@howard.edu

 

Data Science: (Upcoming)

Dr. Moussa Doumbia

EMAIL: mdoumbia@howard.edu

 

COURSE COORDINATION

College Algebra I (005/006):

Dr. Lifoma Salaam
EMAIL: 
lifoma.salaam@howard.edu

 

College Algebra II:

Mr. Prem-Raj Ruffin
EMAIL: 
premraj.ruffin@howard.edu

 

Pre-Calculus

Dr. Khalid Boushaba
EMAIL: 
khalid.boushaba@howard.edu

 

Calculus I

Dr. Sankar Sitaraman
EMAIL: 
ssitaramab@howard.edu

 

Calculus II

Dr. Alexander Burstein
EMAIL: 
aburstein@howard.edu

 

Calculus III

Dr. Timothy Myers
EMAIL: 
timeyers@howard.edu

 

Differential Equations


Dr. David James

EMAIL: djames@howard.edu

 

Math Tutoring and Math Studio Coordination 

Dr. Lifoma Salaam
EMAIL: 
lifoma.salaam@howard.edu

Dr. Izolda Fotiyeva
EMAIL: 
izolda.fotiyeva@howard.edu

Philosophy

Dr. Brandon Hogan
brandon.hogan@howard.edu

LOCATION: Locke Hall Room 226, 2441 6th Street NW
 

Physics and Astronomy

Freshmen and Sophomores

Lincoln Brown, Jr. (OUS)

Email: lg_brown2howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Dr. Prabhakar Misra
pmisra@howard.edu


Dr. Silvina Gatica
sgatica@howard.edu


Dr. Quinton Williams
quinton.williams@howard.edu

Political Science

Freshmen and Sophomores

William Heberlein (OUS)

EMAIL: william.heberlein@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

Psychology

Freshmen and Sophomores

Constance Sanderlin (OUS)

EMAIL: constance.sanderlin@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Juniors and Seniors

Freshmen

Dr. Debra Roberts

EMAIL: ddroberts@howard.edu

 

Dr. Jules Harrell

EMAIL: jharrell@howard.edu

 

Dr. Oritsegbubenmi Ayu

EMAIL: oayu@howard.edu


Sophomores

Dr. Denee Mwendwa

EMAIL: dmwendwa@howard.edu

 

Dr. Monique Major

EMAIL: m_major@howard.edu Juniors

 

Dr. Jamie Barden

EMAIL:barden@howard.edu

Dr. Woojae Kim: woojae.kim@howard.edu

 

Dr. Hope Hill

EMAIL: hhill@howard.edu

 

Dr. Patrick Plummer

EMAIL: patrick.plummer@howard.edu

 

Seniors

Dr. Linda Berg-Cross:

EMAIL: Iberg-cross@howard.edu

 

Dr. Alfonso Campbell Jr.

EMAIL: acampbell@howard.edu

Sociology

Freshmen and Sophomores

Dr. Eleanor King

EMAIL: emking@howard.edu

LOCATION: Douglass Memorial Hall, Building 23, 2419 6th Street NW | 2nd Floor Suite 202

World Languages

Freshmen and Sophomores

Spanish

Crystal Donaldson (OUS)

EMAIL: cdonaldson@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

---

Spanish

Dr. Mercedes Tibbits
EMAIL: mtibbits@howard.edu


French

Dr. Karen Wallace
EMAIL: 
kwallace@howard.edu


All Languages

Dr. Leonard Muaka
EMAIL: 
leonard.muaka@howard.edu

 

LOCATION: Locke Hall, Room 348, 2441 Sixth Street, NW

Undecided / Exploratory

Usher Moses (OUS)

EMAIL: usher.moses@howard.edu

LOCATION: Banneker North, Modular C, 9th St. NW

Business

Karen Hampton
EMAIL: 
Karen.hampton@howard.edu

Daunte Marshal
EMAIL: daunte.marshall@howard.edu

Troy Prince
EMAIL:
troy.prince@howard.edu

LOCATION: 2600 6th St NW

Communications

Mikeisha Best
EMAIL:
Mikeisha.best@howard.edu

Phyllis Robinson
EMAIL:
Phyllis.robinson@howard.edu

LOCATION: 300 Bryant St NW

Education

Brandy Jackson
EMAIL: 
brandy.jackson@howard.edu

LOCATION: 2441 4th Street, NW

Fine Arts

All Undergraduate Classifications

Professor Mark Barkley (Art)
EMAIL: mbartley@howard.edu

Dr. Liana Valente (Music)
EMAIL: 
Liana.valente@howard.edu


Professor Ricky Ramon (Theatre Arts)
EMAIL:
ricky.ramon@howard.edu

LOCATION: Lule Vere Childers Hall, 2455 Sixth Street NW

Nursing and Allied Health Sciences

Suzy Guerrier-Adams (Nursing)
EMAIL: 
Sguerrier-adams@howard.edu


Trevor Leiba (Allied Health Sciences)
EMAIL: 
Tleiba@howard.edu

LOCATION: 2041 Georgia Avenue, N.W. Tower Building, Suite 6000

College of Engineering & Architecture

Architecture

Transfers, 4th & 5th Years

Dr. Hazel Edwards
EMAIL: hazel.edwards@howard.edu

 
1st, 2nd & 3rd Years

Dr. Bradford Grant
EMAIL: 
bcgrant@howard.edu

Chemical Engineering

Freshmen and Sophomores

Dr. Solmaz Tabtabaei
EMAIL: 
Solmaz.tabtabaei@howard.edu


Juniors and Seniors

Dr. John Tharakan
EMAIL: 
jtharakan@howard.edu


Seniors

Dr. Patrick Ymele-Leki
EMAIL:
patrick.ymeleleki@howard.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Freshmen and Sophomores


Dr. Ahlam Shalaby
EMAIL: 
ashalaby@howard.edu


Juniors

Dr. Hessam Yazdani
EMAIL: 
Hessam.yazdani@howard.edu


Seniors

Dr. Robert Efimba
EMAIL: 
refimba@howard.edu

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Computer Science

Last Names: A & B

Dr. Jiang Li
EMAIL: 
jli@howard.edu


Last Names: C, D, E, F

Dr. Olumide O. Malomo
Olumide.malomo@howard.edu


Last Names: G, H, I, J

Dr. Noah Hazzazi
EMAIL:
noah.hazzazi@howard.edu


Last Names: K, L, M, N

Dr. Chunmei Liu
EMAIL: 
chuliu@howad.edu


Last Names: R, S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

Dr. Harry Keeling
EMAIL: 
hkeeling@howard.edu

 

Tech Exchange

Dr. Legand Burge
EMAIL: lburge@howard.edu

--

Computer Engineering

All Computer Engineering Students

Dr. Michaela Amoo
EMAIL: mamoo@howard.edu

--

Electrical Engineering

All Electrical Engineering Students

Dr. Charles Kim
EMAIL:
ckim@howard.edu

Mechanical Engineering

Freshmen

Dr. Hyung Bae
EMAIL: Hyung.bae@howard.edu


Sophomores

Dr. Naren Vira
EMAIL: nvira@howard.edu


Juniors

Dr. Gbadebo Owolabi
EMAIL: 
Gbadebo.owolabi@howard.edu


Seniors

Dr. Nadir Yilmaz
EMAIL: 
Nadir.yilmaz@howard.edu